The Simon glassmaking legacy began with Pierre Simon in 1640. From the 17th century to the present day, twelve generations have passed their expertise down from father to son. This legacy, now personified by Benoît and Stéphanie Marq, makes atelier SIMON MARQ one of the oldest companies in France.
Jacques Simon continued the family tradition that he inherited from his father, Paul Simon, at the beginning of the 20th century and built the workshop that we see today in 1926. In 1917, he saved the stained glass in Reims Cathedral by quickly dismantling them during bombardments and devoted his life to restoring and recreating the stained glass heritage of Champagne-Ardenne, devastated by the Second World War.
Atelier Simon Marq had a new lease of life in 1957 when Brigitte Simon and her husband Charles Marq began to bring historic civil and religious heritage together with stained glass by the greatest contemporary painters such as Marc Chagall, Georges Braque, Serge Poliakoff, Juan Miro, Raoul Ubac, Maria-Héléna Vieira da Silva, and more recently, François Rouan, David Tremlett, Imi Knoebel, Hans Erni, Jean-Paul Agosti etc.
These same artists began contributing to decorative pieces and furniture at the same time as classic stained glass branched out into modern art and the continuation of Art Nouveau and Art Deco trends that began in the 1900s and 1930s.
The FORT ROYAL group took over Atelier SIMON MARQ in 2011 with a view to boost and develop this rich heritage by collaborating with modern artists to create stained glass for architectural and decorative projects and for artwork and furniture.
Atelier SIMON MARQ was recognised as an Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant in 2006 and joined the network of excellence, Grands Ateliers de France in 2012.